Weary?

Weary??

“let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before Him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider Him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.” Hebrews 12: 1b-3

Are you weary of this world we live in? I am. I had a young man push ahead of me today in a line at the post office and exclaim to me that “the line doesn’t form in the parking lot,” when I pointed out to him that I should have been first in line. His language was flooded with profanities. When I told him I was offended by his choice of words, he looked at me and said, “__, ___, ___” then smiled at the others in line. I asked him to leave as he had left a child in the car; his answer was, “I left two in the car.” I decided to leave in order to avoid further banter but he continued his verbal barrage – with even more profanity – giving me his opinion of my appearance with nastiness and continued escalating profanity. NOT one person in the post office; two behind the counter and two others in line did or said a word. He came out as I was writing down his license plate number and told me, in front of his two children, to “watch my back” and “my house,” continuing with profanities.

I left the lot and stopped down the road to pray. I thanked God for His protection. I prayed for the two little children. I prayed for the man and the evilness he revealed. I called Rick and asked what I should do. We agreed that I should file a police report; especially because in my role as a professional counselor I am, by law, required to report negative incidents involving children or the elderly. I entered the local police dept. and told the policeman behind the desk my story. His answer, he would enter the report and I should come in tomorrow to sign it, “if I wanted to go to court.” I don’t know the man and he doesn’t know me but – the policeman said – my address would be included in the summons… the policeman shrugged when I reminded him that I had been threatened.

None of this comes even close to the pain, suffering, embarrassment, or humiliation that Jesus endured but He loved His Father and knew He would sit with Him in Heaven. I know I have a room in the mansions God has prepared for us so what do I do from here? I don’t know; still praying about it but I am so weary and the evilness just gets worse… I AM HOLDING ON TO GOD’S PROMISES FOR HE IS GOOD!!

 

So, I’ll keep holding on to Jesus,

I’ll keep holding on to Jesus,

I’ll keep holding to His precious, nail scarred hands.

Though I cannot see the way too clearly,

My steps become so weary,

I’ll keep holding to those precious nail scarred hands.

 

Unless noted, scripture is NIV ©1984 Int’l Bible Society

Hugs +/or ChIPS ©3/05 Eleanor J. Gale-Boone

Ministry website: www.asistershugs.org

One thought on “Weary?

  1. Very disheartening indeed. I’m glad you walked away. Unfortunately, I probably would’ve given him a piece of my mind. I’ll have to pray about that.

Leave a Reply

