Fleeting

“Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.” Proverbs 31:30

Have you ever thought about what beauty is? I am blessed with a passle of nieces, each beautiful of heart. I believe their inner beauty is MUCH more important than their outer beauty (although they are all beautiful outside too) and sometimes my heart breaks when I perceive them to be “buying” into the world’s beauty=skinny=healthy focus. Their beautiful smiles posted on FB are often overpowered by “work-out,” “diet,” or “healthy” pictures.

I’ve been thin; I’ve been healthier but I haven’t always been a woman who fears (“respects” or “is in awe of”) the Lord. I’ve made a lot of mistakes and when I look in the mirror I know they “tell on me.” My days as a young woman are as far in my past as my days as a natural brunette but I am striving to become “healthier” in the Lord every day!! Spiritual exercise has earthly joy and ETERNAL consequences!

I’m trying to be like Jesus; I’m following in His ways.

I’m trying to love as He did, in all that I do and say.

At times I am tempted to make a wrong choice,

But I try to listen as the still small voice,

whispers,

“Love one another as Jesus loves you.

Try to show kindness in all that you do.

Be gentle and loving in deed and in thought,

For these are the things Jesus taught.”

 (c) 1980 by Janice Kapp Perry.

 

Unless noted, scripture is NIV ©1984 Int’l Bible Society

Hugs +/or ChIPS ©3/05 Eleanor J. Gale-Boone

Ministry website: www.asistershugs.org

Leave a Reply

