Stand Strong

 

“You, however, must teach what is appropriate to sound doctrine. (…) In everything set them an example by doing what is good.” Titus 2:1, 7

         Prior to the revelation of his steroid use, world renowned cyclist Lance Armstrong had begun a foundation called “Livestrong” to raise funds for male cancer awareness. It was based on his beliefs as a physically fit man who had survived cancer. The charity remains strong and healthy without his celebrity endorsement.

Sometimes, whether we like it or not, we are called on to stand strong for the Lord regardless of the circumstances. In my case, this meant standing strong for my belief that Vacation Bible School should always include the salvation message for older attendees as it is the only time some young people come in to the church.

My mother directed VBS for many years; she was the director of the VBS where I, at age 9, accepted the Lord as my personal Savior. She never allowed a VBS to conclude without knowing, for sure, that children from the 3rd grade and up had heard about Jesus dying on the cross for our sin. Last summer, 2015, I excitedly prepared for my first year as the director of VBS for the church Rick and I were attending.

At a meeting between the pastor and I, I raised the idea of presenting the message of salvation to the VBS attendees. I was disappointed when he told me he wouldn’t agree to do it; I told him I was both surprised and sorry he felt that way. However, I could not back down on the importance of presenting the gospel to the kids. Along with the VBS supplies I ordered salvation posters and bookmarks.

VBS came and went; many friends and church members let me know how successful it had been. The kids enjoyed it; I enjoyed it and, in the depths of my heart, I believed the week had pleased the Lord! I still do! But, the pastor did not – for reasons he would not reveal, he let me and the VBS staff that I wouldn’t be asked to direct again. Why? I don’t know but I know this… when I have the opportunity to point kids toward eternal life; I will… I will stand strong for Jesus!

Bring them in; bring them in;

Bring them in from the fields of sin…

Bring them in, bring them in;

Bring the wandering ones to Jesus!

 

Unless noted, scripture is NIV ©1984 Int’l Bible Society

Hugs +/or ChIPS ©3/05 Eleanor J. Gale-Boone

Ministry website: www.asistershugs.org

Leave a Reply

