Custodian of the Legacy

Custodian of the Legacy 

“What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.” James 4:14b 

I, along with three of my siblings and their spouses, a nephew and his fiancé, and many cousins attended the funeral services of our uncle’s wife, our Aunt Helen on Saturday. Speaking about her love for her late husband, children, grandchildren, and great grandchildren, the pastor presenting her eulogy told her children that they are the “custodians of her legacy.” To be very honest, I didn’t hear another word he said. Those words set off a torrent of thoughts in my mind. I sat there surrounded by my generation of “jrs” who, along with the female counterparts are now the custodians of our “Gale” legacy. We have one aunt still with us; she is 89 years old but still spry enough to let me know I was “late.” I wasn’t, I was actually 15 minutes early for the services but she obviously thought I should have been there for the entire visitation time; I smiled!

What characters our grandparents, aunts, and uncles were… physically, emotionally, and spiritually we are carrying on the legacy of a precious diabetic grandmother, a cantankerous hard working grandfather, a philandering uncle and his longsuffering wife, a lifelong bachelor uncle who loved peeking out windows to spy on the neighbors, an uncle who lived the life of the country song – “One Has my Name, the Other Has my Heart”, an aunt who was loved for her sense of humor and laugh that would fill a room – at her own description, “vaccinated with a Victrola needle,” our surviving aunt – always the quieter one with the sweet demeanor, an uncle who married late in his fireman life and my own parents. So, which legacy am I the custodian of??

I’ve thought of this often since my Mom met Jesus in December 2010… I’ve prayed, I’ve cried, I’ve wondered BUT I KNOW ONLY ONE PART OF ANY LEGACY will have eternal ramifications… that of my Mom’s faith, her love and integrity! I choose the narrow path; I choose to make every effort to reflect to those around me… blood family or not… the legacy of faith in the Father, the belief in the sacrificial death and resurrection of Jesus, and walking in communion with the Holy Spirit!

You too are the custodian of a legacy… which are you carrying??

“No, No; it’s not an easy road ~

“No, no; it’s not an easy road

But Jesus walks beside us as He brightens our journey

And carries every heavy load”

 

Unless noted, scripture is NIV ©1984 Int’l Bible Society

Hugs +/or ChIPS ©3/05 Eleanor J. Gale-Boone

Ministry website: www.asistershugs.org

Leave a Reply

