Revolving Life

Jonathan said to David, “Go in peace, for we have sworn friendship with each other in the name of the Lord, saying, ‘The Lord is witness between you and me, and between your descendants and my descendants forever.’” Then David left, and Jonathan went back to the town.” I Samuel 20:42 

Many years ago, Michael W. Smith wrote a song named “Friends” that has become a standard for Christians as a description for everlasting friendship between us and our Christian brothers and sisters. One line says, “for a lifetime’s not enough to live as friends.” Even King David had a friend like that; his enemy King Saul’s son Jonathon.

Do you have a friend who fits the description “revolving door friend?” These are the friends who come and go in our lives YET the love you share is a real if you see each other every day or once a year or (in the case of one of my dearest friends) maybe never face-to-face. Even more importantly, are you that kind of friend?

I am currently counseling two pre-teen girls who are perfect examples of “fleeting” friendships. From one week to another, they have new best friends or they make comments like, “oh well, if she doesn’t like ____ about me, I will just find a new friend.” That is not the type of friend I am thinking about today!!

I am blessed with a couple of friends like Jonathon was to David and I am extremely grateful for them but sometimes I let the cares of the world get in the way. I don’t think that is what God has in mind… I need to work on being a better friend; my friends are worth it. I need to keep reminding myself that when the Lord blesses us with a godly friend that he means it to be FOREVER!

“And friends are friends forever

If the Lord’s the Lord of them.

And a friend will not say never

‘Cause the welcome will not end.

Though it’s hard to let you go,

In the Father’s hands we know,

That a lifetime’s not too long to live as friends.

 

Unless noted, scripture is NIV ©1984 Int’l Bible Society

Hugs +/or ChIPS ©3/05 Eleanor J. Gale-Boone

Ministry website: www.asistershugs.org

Leave a Reply

