Struggling

“For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.” Ephesians 6:12

I hate struggles. I love peace. I love “enough.” Even when I realize that my mistakes have led to the struggles; I hate struggles. Sometimes I find myself wanting to blame “rulers, authorities, powers of this dark world and spiritual forces of evil” for struggles when, in actuality, my sinful selfishness set the scenario for them.

Yet, we, as Christians, must be realistic enough to accept that we do struggle against the forces of evil. In those times we need to spend time in prayer and the study of the Scriptures for a multitude of reasons – to strengthen our foundational beliefs, to share the truths of God’s Word with our sisters and brothers in Christ, and to defend them to the world when necessary.

However, all of my “brain knowledge” doesn’t help when my world feels like it is caving in around me. It doesn’t soothe my heart or mind when I wake up in the middle of the night with a “busy brain” and can’t go back to sleep. I also confess to being a worrier BUT God is able, faithful, and loving! God is good, all the time… all the time, God is good!! 

It’s love so undeniable; I, I can hardly speak.

Peace so unexplainable; I, I can hardly think.

As You call me deeper still into love, love, love

You’re a good good Father; it’s who You are…

And I’m loved by You; it’s who I am!

©2014 WorshipTogether.com ~ Writer(s): Pat Barrett and Tony Brown

 

Unless noted, scripture is NIV ©1984 Int’l Bible Society

Hugs +/or ChIPS ©3/05 Eleanor J. Gale-Boone

Ministry website: www.asistershugs.org

Leave a comment