Repayment

Repayment

“He does not treat us as our sins deserve or repay us according to our iniquities. For as high as the heavens are above the earth, so great is His love for those who fear Him.” Psalm 103:10, 11

My grandson just turned 13 years old and, believe me, there are many things he says that catch me off guard. Some are funny, some cause me to think, “Huh,” and others are quite insightful. Usually I am amazed by the latter but it sure does make me think about the maturity he is developing. I pray for him and my granddaughters harder than I can ever remember praying for their parents… not that I love them more but the world gets more perverse every day! However, last night he said something that still has me laughing!

First, he told me that he (finally) brought his lunch bag home; this was followed by “But, I don’t want to use it anymore. Can you just use a bag?” Ok, I thought, he is growing up; after all, lunch bags are for little kids. The he said, “Oh, yeah and can you pack me three snacks instead of two because I keep running out before snack time.” Ok, I thought, he is a growing boy and 8-4 is a lon-g-g day, especially with an hour plus bus ride each way. Then came the punch line, “And, can you please send me five snacks tomorrow because I owe two.” Obviously snacks are bartered in middle school, not shared!

As I’ve snickered about my 5’11 ½” grandson bargaining for snacks in the afternoon, I’ve also thought about repayment as a general topic. My husband and I have been going through a really rough patch financially. We’ve prayed and listened, we’ve confessed our poor decisions and choices, made lifestyle changes and can see light at the end of this dark tunnel. It’s been tough but there are also so, so many “God smiles” we’ve witnessed! GOD’s love is GREAT! For there is nothing we could ever do to repay Him; even more amazing, HE DOESN’T ASK!

“God’s greatest blessings often come costumed as disasters. Any doubters need to do nothing more than ascend the hill of Calvary.” Max Lucado

 Unless noted, scripture is NIV ©1984 Int’l Bible Society

Hugs +/or ChIPS ©3/05 Eleanor J. Gale-Boone

Ministry website: www.asistershugs.org

Leave a Reply

